Alco Wins Again!

Starter Fred Wagner waved the checkered flag as #18 ALCO stormed by to win the 1910 race. The final lap was full of the drama of a classic Vanderbilt Cup Race. Grant struggled to hold off 21-year-old Joe Dawson, also known as “The Indiana Whirlwind.” After Louis Chevrolet’s car retired, Dawson had the fastest car, pulling out a lead of more than four minutes on Grant by lap 17. But the poor judgment of a spectator who was hit by Dawson on the backstretch during the next lap determined the outcome of the race. Dawson stopped to check on the man, who suffered two broken legs, and then had to pit to repair his gas line. He spent the remaining four laps steadily gaining on Grant only to come up 25 seconds short.